H. Smit



ΕΚΔΟΤΗΣSweet & Maxwell

International Commercial Arbitration and the Courts is an eminently practical guide which covers the area where the activities of the courts and the arbitral tribunals intersect. This unique work provides parties to an arbitration, arbitrators and counsel a wealth of bibliographical information on the interaction between arbitration and the courts, as reflected in international agreements, domestic legislation, decisions of national and international courts, and legal literature. Using this time saving research tool, you can quickly find answers to questions about actions a court is likely to take. It assists in identifying treaty provisions, legislative enactment’s, and court decisions, and in providing guidance in finding appropriate legal rules and precedents. It is arranged in three parts. Part A deals with the jurisdiction and powers of courts and the principal forms of judicial control of, and assistance in, the arbitral process. Part B concentrates on the procedure of setting aside of arbitral awards, appeal and review, and remand. Part C of the book deals with enforcement of arbitral awards. It is concerned particularly with enforceability of arbitral awards, recognition and enforcement of foreign and international awards, applicable law and treaties, requirements and procedures for enforcement, grounds for refusal to enforce, stay of enforcement, and appeal of enforcement decisions. One of the outstanding features of International Commercial Arbitration and the Courts are precise references to national arbitration laws from over 100 countries and citation of arbitration-related judicial decisions rendered by the courts of such countries as Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Colombia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Romania, the Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, and Zimbabwe.